Spread the love

Wifehood The Hell Were In The Future Mix Cover

A cellphone rings. You don’t answer or you do. It doesn’t matter. The call was made by someone, something, outside yourself. It interrupts even if the call is expected. This constant buzz and wail that comes out of these rectangle we worship dominates the moment. The year is now 2020 and we’re lost as we ever were.

This mix, entitled THE HELL WE’RE IN/THE FUTURE, is a Bipolar look at how it already has happened here, and what dreams may come. Divided into the chaos of the moment and the daydream of the in between, the mix bends the corners of reality for two straight hours. Most genres are touched upon but they interact through technology the same way we call and wait for each other.

Not pushing or screaming, but like playing phone tag with an old friend. Softly crashing into their loving waves. Calling is what ties the first half together. Waiting is what bonds the second. Surviving the chaos of THE HELL WE’RE IN doesn’t promise THE FUTURE. But the clairvoyance of disseminating the explosions of the present will certainly make the next step more enjoyable. The two sides of the mix are both one in the same, and independent entities.

The second side, THE FUTURE, is not so much utopian as it is skeptically fearful of the uncanny valley. These are the sounds of the past and present morphed into an idealistic form of submission. Our vision of the future is still rooted in false ideals that continue to carry weight despite the reality warping of the present moment. In contrast to the first half, this side of the mix is easy listening and focused. It’s a security blanket full of razor blades.

The comfort is hollow and the grooves are nerve-racking. Yet faith in something, anything at all, is enough to keep you moving. This vision of the future isn’t full of non-human entities or a bombed out wasteland; it’s people helping each other and hitting the dance floor. It’s Ballroom vogueing on the graves of Nazis. But even in a non-utopian, peaceful planet, there must be space.

To think and dream, even beyond what none thought was possible. To love and accept virtual life and physical life as parts of a whole. To experience it all as past, future and present. Because this future must be made and not found. It’s the audio building blocks of how to move forward.


Joni Void – No Reply (Constellation)
Momus – Virtual Reality (Cherry Red Records)
Eli Keszler – Flying Floor For U.S. Airways (Shelter Press)
Angelique Kidjo – Orubaba (Island Def Jam)
Animals on Wheels – The Elastic Snapped (Ninja Tune)
Soft Glas/Chargaux – The Sun (Self Released)
Drexciya – Birth of New Life (Tresor Records)
Scintii – Deux (SVBKVLT)
Susumu Yokota – Genshi (Skintone)
MSYLMA – Min Bab AlDaa-i w AIDawaa (Halcyon Veil)
Lauren Bousfield – A Joke Poorly Told (Deathbomb Arc)
Kush Jones – Harmonious (Juke Bounce Werk)
Steve Spacek – Love 4 Nano (Black Focus)
Yasuaki Shimizu – Bridgestone 5 (Thirtieth)

On a Different Note:


Spread the love

One thought on “Listen: IHN Mix by Wifehood // Side B: The Future

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Review: Gavino Morretti - Girl Zero

Fri Oct 16 , 2020
Spread the love Read my other reviews / follow me on Twitter I’ve been a fan of soundtracks since I first started listening to music, […]
Music Reviews 2
I Heart Noise

Contact Us

%d bloggers like this: