Listen: Interview with Kirayoshi + Guest Mix
Listen: Interview with Kirayoshi + Guest Mix

Listen: Interview with Kirayoshi + Guest Mix

[nextpage title=”Interview” ]
Kirayoshi (or キラヨシ) is nom de plume of Framingham, MA-based artist Derek Power (who also runs his own imprint djproject). The beginnings of his career go back to 2000s when he produced a slew of releases under the name The Spangle Maker.
Reincarnated Resurrection is Kirayoshi’s debut and it arrived in August of this year. Our own Petridisch appears on track #4 and he also spoke to Derek about the album and influences (ranging from vaporwave to Peter Gabriel and Mars Volta):
[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”” class=”” size=””]I admittedly have not been taken by a piece of new music in a long while the way the debut KIRAYOSHI LP “Reincarnated Resurrection” has.  The instantly familiar yet utterly fresh electronic dream-sounds coming from, admittedly, a longtime friend, wow-ed me to the point where I had to find out more about its creation.  Mysterious music such as this must have an *interesting* background.  Derek Power, the man behind KIRAYOSHI, did not let me down as we spoke about such: origins, influence, process, Vangelis and Deep Space Nine (!) among other topics! [/perfectpullquote]

[nextpage title=”Guest Mix” ]
Derek also produced a guest mix for IHN. As he explains:
[perfectpullquote align=”full” bordertop=”false” cite=”” link=”” color=”” class=”” size=”15″] For the first track from Reincarnated Resurrection, or “Reenkarniĝo revivigita”, I did have in mind to use various songs I knew to give some illustration of what I like and what I am like. However, fear of having to deal with potential cease-and-deist allowed me to reevaluate my options. In a way, I’m glad because 1) I liked what I ultimately did and 2) I would have changed my mind anyway. In fact, if you asked me on a different day, I probably would have picked something else. This is one of many examples of what I would have done. The goal was to demonstrate breadth and depth of what I personally know and love and it is by no means definitive. Consider this a tip of the iceberg of what I know as well as indicator of what may be in store for the future. [/perfectpullquote]

1. Ave, Vangelis
2. Dancehall, Blur
3. Ccec, Autechre
4. Greetings from a Dead Man, Eurythmics
5. La Puerta del Cielo, Enigma
6. – Naiads, Cassadies, Fleet Foxes
7. A Dream of No Pillow, Tomo Akikawabaya
8. Blank Page, Smashing Pumpkins
9. Fate, Lycia
10. Merr, lovesliescrushing
11. Für Lennart in memoriam, Arvo Pärt (composer)/Tallinn Chamber Orchestra (performer)
12. Collected Light, Leyland Kirby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *