Upcoming Releases – Start Your Own F*cking Show Space compilation

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A sprawling beast of a compilation, SYOFS (out on August 5th via Famous Class) chronicles the last days of Death by Audio, a legendary Brooklyn venue founded by Olive Ackermann (A Place to Bury Strangers)

For nearly a decade, Death by Audio was a recording studio, an effect pedal workshop, a music venue, and a home to musicians and artists. Oliver Ackermann (A Place to Bury Strangers) found the warehouse in 2005 and along with fellow artists in Dirty on Purpose, he started hosting concerts to help pay to build out bedrooms and studios. By 2007 DBA was hosting bands almost every night. Over 1,800 shows later, DBA announced its impending eviction with an epic final month of programming. Start Your Own Fucking Show Space tracks the last days of DBA in November 2014, a sweaty, bittersweet homecoming for many artists who began their career there.

SYOFS features 26 tracks from the likes of Thee Oh Sees, Lightning Bolt, Dan Deacon, Deerhoof, Protomartyr, Metz and many more!

Pre-order the compilation via Famous Class and/or hear various tracks from the compilation below

Further reading

The Fader | Pitchfork | Gimme Tinnitus | Post Trash

Related posts:

Share and Enjoy

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • delicious
  • linkedin
  • stumbleupon
  • add-to-favorites
  • email
  • rss

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *